Day… Four?

This experience so far has seemed timeless. Part of me feels like I just got off the plane yesterday, and another part feels like I’ve been here for months. We stay pretty busy on the weekdays setting up and purchasing stuff for lessons, running errands, and staying late whenever it’s needed. Like yesterday. I fell asleep on the Ikea couch with the girls last night watching a Turkish soap opera with Greek subtitles, waiting on the other interns to get back from running late errands. They love that stuff (the Turkish soap opera… not so much the errands). I’m lucky I didn’t end up with a toothpaste mustache or something, haha.

God is definitely using all of the skills I have learned up to this point: language, dance, communication, you name it. And I’ve only had three days at the shelter. Also, I will have an opportunity coming up to do something very specific to my skill set, and I’m a little nervous because it’s the kind of thing I would love to continue and I really want to do a good job. Prayers appreciated.

On a more touristy note, I visited the city center and the White Tower today! I just realized I didn’t take any pictures of the tower from the outside, but here’s one I found just for reference:

20140405-211838.jpg

Ok so this picture’s pretty neat looking because the tower is that distinctive building on the right all lit up. Here’s a few I took from the inside looking out to the harbor:

20140405-212010.jpg

20140405-212048.jpg

And these are from the top roof part looking out:

20140405-212138.jpg

20140405-212202.jpg

20140405-212223.jpg

20140405-212249.jpg

There were spiral stairs that go all the way up the inside, and about seven small floors with little museum exhibitions about Thessaloniki. The White Tower is important to the Greeks because it was originally built by the Ottomans when they took over to house (and torture) Greek prisoners, and when Greece became it’s own country again they painted it white as a sign that they were free from all that. Pretty cool.

One last thing you should all know. I am very sad to inform you that you may have been under the impression that you have been eating fruits and vegetables most of your life, but unfortunately I am here to tell you that unless you have been to Greece, you have tasted neither fruit nor vegetable. Nor feta, for that matter. Only sad, expensive imitations. I don’t think I’ll be able to order a Greek salad ever again when I get home. That’s all for now.

One comment

Leave a comment